Tuesday, December 2, 2014

"Four Corners" of Resolute Support

The Resolute Support mission begins in January 2015 with a total of 9,800 (plus or minus) troops from the United States and a contingent of Europeans and other contributing nations (probably a few thousand). The mission is going to be mostly Security Force Assistance (SFA) with a little bit of counter-terrorism. The SFA mission will concentrate at the ministry, institutional, and corps level. Only four of the six Afghan National Army Corps will be covered down by advisors. The areas to be covered are referred to as the "Four Corners" - Herat, Mazar-e-Sharif, Jalalabad, and Kandahar. The four corners is depicted on the map below.

Map depicting the "Four Corners" of Resolute Support
(map from NATO video, Dec 1, 2014)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.